no grandparentTitle
Print
Share

Taxi Fare Review 2013-14

From 30 June 2014, under section 162C of the Transport (Compliance and Miscellaneous) Act 1983 and Part 3 of the Essential Services Commission Act 2001, the Commission has the power to set the maximum charges for taxi services for the Metropolitan Melbourne and the Urban and Large Regional taxi zones.

The Commission made its taxi fare determination for the Metropolitan and Urban and Large Regional taxi zones on 19 June 2014.

The determination sets the maximum fares that can be charged by taxi operators who hold a Metropolitan or Urban and Large Regional taxi licence. The Commission has determined that the fare levels for the Metropolitan and Urban and Large Regional taxi zones will not change from those we recommended in March 2014 and were implemented by the Victorian Government on 19 May 2014.

The determination is based on our taxi fare review (completed in March 2014). We undertook extensive consultation with stakeholders as part of the review, meeting with taxi operators (of various fleet size), drivers, industry and consumer groups, network service providers, and meter providers. We released a number of papers as part of the review, on which we invited and received submissions from stakeholders. We also undertook driver and operator surveys to inform our final recommendations.

The determination takes effect from 1 July 2014.

Associated Documents


Taxi Fare Determination 2014 (3)
20 Jun 2014 Determination – Taxi Fare Review 2014
18 Jun 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2014 – Notice of Determination
18 Jun 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Final Report
Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Final Report Fact Sheets (6)
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 1 – Overview of The Victorian Taxi Industry
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 2 – Our Role In The Taxi Fare Review 2013-14
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 3 – Our Response to The Taxi Industry Inquiry’S Far
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 4 – Taxi Fares – What’S New?
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 5 – Taxi Fares – Impact On Customers
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 Final Report Fact Sheet 6 – Interstate Comparison of Taxi Fares In
Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Correspondence With Melbourne Airport (4)
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Initial Information Request to Melbourne Airport 28 January 2014
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Melbourne Airport Response to ESC Information Request – 3 February 2014
10 Apr 2014 ESC Response to Melbourne Airport – Revised Information Request – 10 February 2014
10 Apr 2014 Melbourne Airport Response to ESC Revised Information Request – 14 March 2014
Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Consultants Reports (2)
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Costs of Providing Taxi Services Prepared By The Cie
10 Apr 2014 Taxi Fare Review 2013-14 – Assessment of Appropriate Industry Returns for The Taxi Industry – Prepar
Surveys for Taxi Drivers and Operators – Taxi Fare Review (4)
04 Dec 2013 Taxi Driver Survey – Taxi Fare Review
04 Dec 2013 Taxi Operator Survey – Taxi Fare Review
04 Dec 2013 Taxi Driver Survey Letter – Taxi Fare Review
04 Dec 2013 Taxi Operator Survey Letter – Taxi Fare Review