Organisation structure

Our structure reflects the industries we regulate. Read more about us and what we do.

We are led by our three commissioners, who are responsible for approving the determinations, reviews and decisions that respond to our primary responsibilities as an economic regulator.

Dr Ron Ben-David – Commissioner and Chair

Ron has a broad interest in all aspects of the commission’s role in promoting the long-term interests of Victorian consumers.

He was a Deputy Secretary for the Department of Premier and Cabinet. He also established Victoria’s Office of Climate Change in 2007 and headed the secretariat for the Garnaut Climate Change Review. Ron was appointed Chair of the Essential Services Commission of Victoria in 2008.

He holds a Bachelor of Science (Optom), a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons) and a PhD (Economics). In 2005, Ron became a fellow of the Institute of Public Administration (Vic). He is also a member of numerous advisory councils.

Richard Clarke – Commissioner

After working for many years as an economist in the public and private sectors, Richard Clarke was appointed a part-time commissioner in March 2014.

Richard graduated with a Master of Economics from Monash University. He worked at Monash University’s Centre of Policy Studies followed by more than five years as chief economist for Shell Australia. Richard’s resume also includes stints with the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance, the Australian, Queensland and New Zealand productivity commissions, the Better Regulation Executive (London), and the Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission.

Kate Symons – Commissioner

Kate was appointed part-time commissioner in October 2016. As a lawyer with qualifications in public administration and corporate governance, Kate has experience across a number of sectors.

Kate has particular expertise in risk, compliance and governance issues. She acted as solicitor-assisting for the HIH Royal Commission, has held roles within the university sector and the Federal Court of Australia, and has worked in private practice both in Australia and overseas.

Dr John Hamill – Chief Executive Officer

John has strong public sector experience, particularly in strategic micro-economic analysis, budget management, organisational perfofrmance and policy development. Most recently, he was the Manager of Input Methodologies, then General Manager, Regulation at the Commerce Commission of New Zealand.

John also held several roles at the New Zealand Ministry of Justice and has a PhD in English literature from Victoria University of Wellington.


Essential Services Commission